20 Квітня, 2024
Без категорії

Furious tennis star breaks rarely-seen rule at the worst possible time then throws racquet across court in rage

Hurkacz explained the situation to his opponent at the end of the match Alex Smith, Sports Reporter Published: 15:43, 27 Mar 2024 Updated: 15:43, 27 Mar 2024 HUBERT HURKACZ lost his temper after breaking a little-known rule at the Miami Open. The world No8 was up against Grigor Dimitrov in the last 16 of the”, — write on: www.thesun.co.uk

Hurkacz explained the situation to his opponent at the end of the match

  • Published: 15:43, 27 Mar 2024
  • Updated: 15:43, 27 Mar 2024
HUBERT HURKACZ lost his temper after breaking a little-known rule at the Miami Open.

The world No8 was up against Grigor Dimitrov in the last 16 of the tournament.

“Mr Hurkacz touched the net with his left foot” 👀

CONTROVERSY at the end of Grigor Dimitrov’s three-set win over Hubert Hurkacz 🗯️ pic.twitter.com/aqn5Y7mG4h

— Sky Sports Tennis (@SkySportsTennis) March 27, 2024

Hubert Hurkacz's foot made contact with the net

2

Hubert Hurkacz’s foot made contact with the netCredit: Sky Sports

The world No8 threw his racquet in anger after having the point taken off him

2

The world No8 threw his racquet in anger after having the point taken off himCredit: Sky SportsWith the match at 6-6 in the final set, a seven-point tiebreak would decide the clash.

The score was 2-2 in the breaker when Hurkacz smashed home a winner on top of the net.

However, as he chased down the short ball, the umpire spotted the bottom of his foot touch the net.

Players are not allowed to make any contact with the net while a rally is active and therefore Dimitrov was handed the point.

READ MORE IN TENNIS

It lead to Hurkacz losing his cool as he screamed at the umpire and then threw his racket across the court in anger.

The official went straight on the microphone and said: “Touch. Ladies and gentlemen, Mr Hurkacz touched the net with his left foot. 3-2 Dimitrov.”

After his outburst, the big-serving Pole was unable to compose himself and he picked up just one more point en route to his defeat.

As the pair shook hands at the net, Dimitrov asked why he was given the point as he did not see the touch on the net.

Most read in Sport

CASINO SPECIAL – BEST CASINO WELCOME OFFERS

Hurkacz replied: “I kind of slipped, but I didn’t feel it, I could’ve touched it.”

Fans were full of praise for the umpire for spotting the infringement, with one saying: “A great call.”

Little-known tennis rule forces Novak Djokovic to take comical tumble over Wimbledon net leaving opponent in hysterics

Another added: “Rules are rules.”

Dimitrov faces Carlos Alcaraz next in the quarter-finals.

Пов'язані новини

Вілл Сміт виконує «Люди в чорному» з Дж. Бальвіном на Coachella в несподіваній появі

hollywoodreporter com

Дмитро Кліменков: Закупівлі за стандартами НАТО — це антикорупційний запобіжник, який ми впроваджуємо

army inform

Чейл Соннен: Алекс Перейра може стати GOAT MMA, якщо виграє титул UFC у важкій вазі

mmajunkie usatoday

Залишити коментар

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Прийняти Читати більше